The governance bodies are tasked with the enhancement and implementation of sustainable development under the label of the UNESCO World Heritage as defined in the Charter of Konkordiaplatz and related guidelines.

The governance structure includes the following institutions:


Management Center

The management center is in charge of the implementation of the management strategy, to safeguard the World Heritage for the next generations and to foster sustainable socioeconomic development in the World Heritage Region on behalf of the UNESCO World Heritage Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch Foundation.

  • Dr. Hans-Christian Leiggener, Director
  • Raphael Schmid
  • Barbara Mäder
  • Janosch Hugi
  • Alessandra Lochmatter
  • Martin Zmilacher
  • Alexandra Donaldson
  • Ingrid Reino
  • Patrik Ngu
  • Nadja Debons
  • Jessica Oehler
  • Myriam Roidt


  • Nina Bittel
  • Joye Hutter
  • Laurence Kamber
  • Vera Schnyder


Steering Committee

The steering committee of the Foundation UNESCO World Heritage Swiss Alps Jungfrau Aletsch is composed of the following persons:


  • Urs Gasche

Vice Presidents

  • Hans Abplanalp-Imbaumgarten
  • Richard Kalbermatter

Committee Members

  • Ursula Zybach
  • Peter Bähler
  • Carlo Imboden
  • Hansueli Mürner
  • Charlotte Salzmann-Briand
  • Karl Näpflin


Advisory Board

The Board members’ network are the ambassadors with national and international recognition who will support the dissemination of the values and aims of the UNESCO World Heritage Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch.


  • Peter Brabeck, former President of the Board Nestlé S.A.
  • Evelyne Binsack, Mountain Guide, Helicopter pilot, Author
  • Dr. Jakob Kellenberger, former President ICRC
  • Andreas Rickenbacher, former senior civil servant of Canton Bern
  • Alec von Graffenried, President of the city of Bern

Statutes of the Foundation